Home > Drivel, Just about me, Social Commentary > Just be Nice #1

Just be Nice #1

November 15, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I get tired of being scared. I get tired of thinking the worst of people. But we are surrounded by negative news generated by a minority of the population. This tiny percentage of “meanies” really ruins it for the rest of us. I am sick of the negative crap in mass media. Its out there, it exists and we need to be aware of it but too often its taken, sensationalized and made profitable.

When someone offers a kindness sometimes we reject it out of fear of the ulterior motive.  We have become so jaded and so suspicious of niceness that we reject it, and then offend the offerer who may think twice before offering it again therefore diminishing the pool of people that will be nice.

That’s a finite resource. As we kill the desire to be kind to each other it is replaced with a suspicion and coldness. It gets old, all these jerks that take any action and twist and turn it around. It does no one any good and seems to exist solely to be antagonistic. The Facebook guy, he gave 100 million bones to New Jersey. The day after I saw tweets asking if it was for publicity, Trying to get press, what was his motive. I didnt see the words “thanks” very much. Why? Why the hell does it matter why he gave. If I am some ultra rich fella, and I see how some of this stuff gets turned around I have to wonder if I would still give. Whats wrong with saying “Wow, Thank you so much. We as a society appreciate you and what you have chosen to give.” and not condemn them. We want to promote kind acts, because if we don’t we end up killing kind acts and the world becomes a little harder each day.

Small acts have heavy impact as well. Think of it like this, You do a kindness for someone(opened the door, helped someone carry something, let someone in front of you in the car) , the person accepts your kindness repays you with gratitude and both of you go away feeling good. Maybe the next time the person you helped runs into someone in need they will act. And you feel like a stud for helping out reinforcing your desire to help again. You are spreading little kindness seeds for every kind act you do.

We can change the direction we are going in the way we relate to each other. It just takes a little time and resilience. But next time someone wants to be kind to you, accept it graciously and you will be doing the world a favor.

  1. November 15, 2010 at 1:47 am

    I have started to get rid of the negativity in my life, and I didn’t realize how much of it was around me. I don’t watch TV or the news because who wants to be depressed all the time. I recently had to un-follow a few people on Twitter because I could not bear to listen to them continuously complain about how bad their lives were, when in actuality they are better off than most!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

