Home > Reviews, Tech > Motorola Cliq vs HTC MyTouch 3g

Motorola Cliq vs HTC MyTouch 3g

November 21, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

My wife got her Cliq today and I thought I would throw up a quick comparison. Firstly the Cliq seems faster and more stable than the Mytouch 3g(hereon referred to as the mytouch). Its touch screen seems a little more sensitive in a good way. It just feels smoother I guess. The Mytouch can be a little hitchy at times. I don’t have any apps loaded on the Cliq yet and I have the mytouch loaded down with stuff which impacts its speed.

I love the form factor of the mytouch, it is small and light and just really fits in a pocket well. The Cliq is not much larger and I don’t see a problem carrying it around but it does have the pop out keyboard that the mytouch doesn’t and that adds a bit of, o I don’t know, chunkiness, not a huge deal but a difference between the two. The Cliq is a little heavier than the MyTouch and a tad fatter.

The biggest difference besides the pop out keyboard is the way the manufactures have configured the OS. When I first started the mytouch I had a phone. Then I added apps and hooked it to a few sites and my device was complete. When first starting up the Cliq you get prompted for all the social networking site logon’s by default. It quickly aggregates all the sites you are a part of and then pretty much pukes all that data up on the main screen(MotoBlur is what they call it). Initially it seems a little much but I am sure after a while you get used to it. And its face book app is much better than the one on the Mytouch.

Both the phones have all the stuff that smart phones need to have. GPS, speech dialing, speech search from google plus a ton of apps. They both run on android so the underlying OS is the same just Motorola has add a different face to theirs. The integration with google maps is amazing with both the phones and really make traveling to new places fun. Apps like sherpa help a ton.

There are a few negatives to the mytouch though. The power plug looks like it wont accept the regular usb plug but it will.  It doesn’t come with a standard headphone jack on the phone. It comes with a cable you plug into the bottom of the phone(same place as the power cable) and that turns into a regular jack. Me, I lose shit, all the time so I have already lost that little dongle so it can’t be my Mp3 player and phone, just my phone. The Cliq uses the new micro USB that most of the new Blackberries come with and it does include a headphone jack on the phone.

I am impressed with the Cliq. I like the way the keyboard feels, it has a nice spring loaded pop to it and the phone just feels a little more polished ot me than the MyTouch. If I were to choose again I believe I would get the Cliq, the only thing you lose by going with the Cliq over the MyTouch is a little bit of size but you gain a bunch: MotoBlur(not sure if this is a Gain), Pop Out keyboard, Headphone Jack, Normal Power Cable, higher MP Camera, seemingly speedier interface,  and just a better put together package.

Cliq MyTouch 3G
Camera: 5.2 MP 3.2 MP
OS: Android V1.5 Android V1.6
Battery: 1420 mAh 1340 Mah
Internet: 11.2 ounces (317 grams) 10 ounces
Standby: 325 hours max. 420 hours max.
Touch Screen: 3.1″ diagonal 3.2″ diagonal
Resolution: 320 x 480 pixels 320 x 480 pixels
Size: 114 x 58 x 15.6 mm 113 x 56 x 14.7 mm
Talk: 6 hours max. (360 minutes) 7 hours max. (420 minutes)
Weight: 166 g 116 g
Picture from Cliq

Picture from MyTouch 3G


I hope this helps if you are trying to decide between one of these fun phones.

  1. December 1, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    Thats a sweet phone. Phones are gonna get more and more feature packed and packed in smaller outfits, thanks partly to the new micro usb format. The picture quality of both seems alright. I think I’d rather the Cliq though.

  2. kenny
    January 27, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    Thanks! I’ve been searching for this type of review all morning!

  3. tmob-gurl
    January 29, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    I found this article extremely informative. I am definitely happy with my Cliq and now that I read this, I am going to keep it and not switch to the MyTouch. I really appreciate the fast speed and fun of the Cliq. Thanks for a very informative article!

  4. February 9, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Thanks for the great review. Have you been told anything about the inability to upgrade the Cliq to 1.6 to take advantage of new apps/games at the Android Marketplace?

    My wife and I are considering either the myTouch 3G v1.2 or the Cliq and I am doing tons of comparison research. I was leaning towards the MT but after reading your review and viewing Cliq YouTube videos (my wife likes the Cliq but knows nothing about android phones so I have to inform her :-P) I am considering that one for myself too.

    We are migrating from T-Mobile BlackBerrys (8100 & 8320) and she wants the physical keypad where I don’t really care that much about it. I am a heavy Google user, she is based around Yahoo more, and I would like everything I keep tabs on (Twitter/FB/Gmail/Yahoo Mail/TMO Mail) to dump into a central point, and I like the “Happenings” app idea.

    Oh and we are both sick to death of having to remove the batteries to clear memory from our BBs. Ugh. So archaic.

    How has your experience with both devices been since you bought them (if you don’t mind my asking).

    Thanks!

  5. February 9, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    Thanks for the feedback Ryan. Too bad about the myTouch rebooting a lot. I may try the new updated v1.2 but if it gives me probs within the 14 day tryout period I will return it. Will prob get my wife the Cliq and see how that goes. We might both go that direction.

    Thanks again!

  6. Julie Sergovic
    February 23, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    Thank you so much for taking the time to do this!! I was having such a hard time making a decision- I really appreciate all the info! (I went with the Cliq -mainly because of the keyboard)

    • machine906
      February 23, 2010 at 8:37 pm

      I agree it was very helpful. I wound up getting the myTouch 3G 1.2 and my wife the Cliq and we both love the devices. She needed the physical keypad but I’ve been doing just fine with the onscreen touch input.

      I really like the android OS practicality and functionality as well as the customizing that can be done to help you do tasks more fluidly. SO much more so than the iPod Touch/iPhone UI.

      Onward and upward!

  7. Scott
    March 11, 2010 at 7:25 am

    Thanks for the great comparison. I’ve been using the MyTouch3g for a few months, and love it… except for the lack of a 3.5mm jack for music! It has great potential to be a “iPod” replacement, with Pandora, nuTsie, and more, but the smaller jack is a nuisance.
    The one thing I can tell you that I’ve tried is Swype, the new kind of keyboard for the touchscreen, where you just slide your finger over the keys of the word and it figures out what you wanted to say. I know it sounds weird and unlikely to work, but it is AMAZING. I downloaded a trial version that just expired, and I’m missing it big time.

  8. machine906
    March 30, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    I love Swype. I started using it because it was on my MT3G and I always like to try new things (on of my vices) and I’m hooked. It speeds up my texting exponentially.

    I was lucky enough to grab one of the second gen 1.6 MT3G handsets so it came with more memory and the 3.5mm jack. I can’t say enough of how perfect it is for me. The Android OS is as close to an actual desktop interface for mobile devices right now as you can get. The iPod Touch I have is rarely used anymore at all. It’s so frustrating to only have one button to back out of apps and then totally closing them at the same time. Too much time wasted switching in and out of apps.

  9. May 4, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    I have an HTC x9501 Shift. It is just as nice as this HTC. Lucky you r bro 🙂

    MY HTC shift x9501 won’t able to make 2G phone call

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

